In which I opine about loud construction in my backyard at 7am

This morning (and several other mornings in the past few months) a crew was hard at work on the apartment building behind mine. 

They don’t usually start until 7am, but once they start, they’re LOUD. I’m talking loud music, loud banging and scraping and LOUD yelling. 

I know that they have a job to do. But I would appreciate it if they were a bit more considerate of the people nearby.

There are some people (like me) who work from home and their loud music, noise and yelling are very distracting and makes it difficult for me to make phone calls, or to focus for more than the length of one of their songs or clanging.

There are also people who work nights, or at least late (like I used to), and who sleep during the day. I wanted to sleep in this morning, but once they started working, that was it.

So to all of you out there in the internet. (People live in the internet don’t they?) If you have a job that might put your noise level into conflict with the people around you, try to be a bit more considerate. I understand that work can be boring so you might want to play music, and that’s fine! But just think about your decible level. There are other people who might have objections to listening to your music AND your tools at an ear splitting level at 7am. Your tools might have no volume control, but your radio does.

In the words of the venerable Wil Wheaton – “Don’t be a dick!”

Leave a Reply

