On this the resurrection of the zombie Jesus

I had an interesting couple of coversations about my religious staus today.
It seems that major religious holidays (especially of the Judeo-Christian variety) gives believers license to question and judge those of us who are not. (Or as I like to call myself, able to think for myself and make my own decisions).
My first conversation started off fairly innocuous. My dad was relating a story of a bank teller saying he calls Easter Zombie Jesus day. My dad of course (an Episcopalian priest) says ‘thats what my
daughter says too! She’s in her Active Agnostic Phase.’
If my not subscribing to organized religion is a phase its a pretty long phase, I’ve been in it since I was 10 and able to see holes in religion.
I don’t object to being called an Active Agnostic, but for my dad to call it a phase just lends more credence to my statement that major religious holidays give ‘the righteous’ the sanctified ability to judge the lack of belief of the rest of us.
At family brunch, my uncle went a bit further, implying that it was some big gift my parents had given me all those years ago, the freedom to make my own decisions and to believe what I want. He even went so far as to say I had fallen from the family Christian tree due to my lack of belief. But it wasn’t just what he said, it was more how I felt he saw me, as a godless, morally bereft human being with no spiritual center from which to draw strength.

Let me spell this out for you.

Just because I don’t go to church, don’t believe in God, and dislike all forms of organized religion doesn’t make me a bad person, or lacking in spirituality.

I find all of the spiritual renewal I need by walking in nature, looking out my window on a rainy day and seeing the trees turn green. For me, church is going on a hike, or going camping. My spirit is recharged by being around living things and seeing my place in the greater universe. I am humbled by knowing how small and insignificant I am, and I can see more how my life makes an impact on the world at large.

For those of you who are true believers, who actually live a god-like life, not just preaching and judging others who you have believed to have failed, isn’t that what church is about?

Keep your religion to yourself. This country has no national religion, and has freedom to choose your own or lack thereof. Don’t judge me negatively or presume to assume you know me because I don’t subscribe to your idea of religion.

We all believe something, sometimes they’re just different.

Happy Zombie Jesus day.

Leave a Reply

